CFA Institute Research Challenge

Winners of the 2012 New York Regional

Eligibility Open to all RBS students.
Some restrictions apply.

New York City


Teams of 3 to 5 consisting of both undergraduate and graduate students

Sponsored by

New York Society of Security Analysts
and CFA Institute


Professor John Longo

The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that provides university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work in teams to research and analyze a publicly traded company — sometimes even meeting face-to-face with company management. Each team writes a research report on their assigned company with a buy, sell, or hold recommendation and may be asked to present and defend their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

The competition spans one academic year and has three levels: Local, Regional, and Global. Winners at the Local level advance to compete against Teams within their geographic region at the Regional level. Winning Teams at the Regional level advance to compete at the Global level. One Team is designated the ultimate winning Team, or Champion, at the Global level.

The Local level is hosted by the New York Society of Security Analysts (NYSSA). The winning team advances to the Americas Regional held April 15-16, 2015 in Atlanta, Georgia to compete against other North American teams. Participating Universities on the Local level for 2015 include:

  • Binghamton University
  • College of Staten Island, CUNY
  • CUNY Brooklyn College
  • CUNY Queens College
  • Fairfield University
  • Fordham University
  • Hofstra University
  • Hunter College
  • Iona College
  • Mercy College
  • Molloy College
  • Montclair State University
  • New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Pace University
  • Quinnipiac University
  • Rutgers University
  • Saint Peter's University
  • Seton Hall University
  • St. John's University
  • The College of New Jersey
  • University at Albany, SUNY


Important Dates

October 2014
Local competition begins

April 15-16, 2015
Americas Regional

April 17, 2015
Global Finals


Past Competitions