Furthering its goal to promote research and help advance the field of innovation and technology management, the Technology Management Research Center (TMRC) at Rutgers Business School – Newark and New Brunswick (RBS) established an annual awards program in 2002. These awards are presented each year to recognize and support outstanding research on technology and innovation management.


Faculty Research Support Award

($7,500 maximum)

This award is presented to RBS faculty to support research projects in the field of technology and innovation management.


  • Fariborz Damanpour, Deborah Dougherty, Vivian Fang, Ajai Gaur, and Aaron Shenhar (2011-2012)
  • Deborah Dougherty and Daniel Levin (2009-2010)
  • Fariborz Damanpour and Daniel Levin (2008-2009)
  • Nancy DiTomaso (2007-2008)
  • Deborah Dougherty and Sharan Jagpal (2006-2007)
  • Dt Ogilvie (2005-2006)
  • Theresa Cho (2003-2004)
  • Fariborz Damanpour (2003-2004)
  • Varghese George (2002-2003)


Faculty Merit Award


This award is given to one qualified RBS faculty member annually in recognition of his/her continuous research contributions and leadership in the field of technology and innovation management.


  • Michelle Gittelman (2011-2012)
  • Nancy DiTomaso (2008-2009)
  • Jim Wade (2006-2007)
  • Deborah Dougherty (2004-2005)
  • Farok Contractor (2003-2004)
  • Fariborz Damanpour (2002-2003)


Dissertation Research Award

($2,500 maximum)

This award benefits PhD students who have selected a dissertation topic in the field of technology and innovation management.


  • Anke Piepenbrink, Millie Su (2011-2012)
  • Jun Li, Ranfeng Qiu, Feng Zhang (2009-2010)
  • Pooja Thakur (2008-2009)
  • Danielle Dunne, Sue Kong and Yanli Zhang (2006-2007)
  • Helena Barnard and Liuba Belkin (2005-2006)
  • Jia Wu (2004-2005)
  • Yong-Sik Hwang (2003-2004)
  • Joanne Scillitoe (2003-2004)
  • Nareatha Studdard (2003-2004)
  • Yi-Yu Chen (2002-2003)
  • Corinne Post (2002-2003)


The awards program complements the TMRC’s continuing, year-round financial support of research by faculty and doctoral students, which has represented an integral part of the Center’s mission since its founding in 1988.

For additional information on the annual TMRC awards program (individual awards, conditions, nominations and deadlines) and other funding opportunities, please contact the program Director.